SUMMER DRIVER EDUCATION REGISTRATION OPENING THIS FRIDAY 3/12/21!!!
All summer school driver education registration will be open on 3/12/21 at 8:00 am.
Please go to Summer Driver Education for signups!
ATTENTION ALL 2020 FALL DRIVER EDUCATION STUDENTS & FAMILIES!!!
Students that are signing up for behind the wheel hours remaining from the fall MUST attend the sessions that you have signed up for! If you do not show up for a session that you have signed up for, you will be dropped from all of your other slots and have to wait until the end to be added back to the schedule. If for some reason you need to cancel, you need to email your DE Classroom teacher alerting of cancellation 24 hours ahead of the day you are scheduled to avoid any penalty. Please remember the Secretary of State guidelines that limit students to miss no more than 2 Behind the Wheel drives and 4 Classroom sessions. If you exceed these amounts, per the Secretary of State, you will be dropped from this course.
About Driver Education
The Driver Education Program is an integrated two-phase program taught over an 18-week semester. The two phases consist of classroom and behind the wheel (on-street driving), which exceed the requirements set by the State of Illinois.
Students must receive a passing grade in a minimum of eight (8) courses during the previous two (2) semesters. Students must then complete an application for an instructional permit to the Secretary of State with a check for $20.00 along with passing a written permit test and vision test.
Students must pass both the classroom and driving phases in order to be eligible to get their license. They must also attend a minimum of thirty 30 hours of classroom and drive for a total (BTW) of six (6) hours. State law also requires each student to complete fifty (50) hours of practice driving with an adult (outside of class) to qualify for an Illinois license. Ten (10) of those hours must be in night driving conditions. These fifty (50) hours must be documented on the student driver log sheet.