Education Committee

  • The Education Committee monitors the district’s education system in its broadest sense. It acts as a reviewing body for curriculum proposals and district policies. The committee reviews state and federal legislations that impact the district and studies the research findings of professional education associations. It initiates analysis of new issues and is currently exploring methods for preparing students for the future. 

    Committee Membership

    Patrick O'Sullivan, Chair
    Kate Murphy Peterson, Vice-Chair
    Melissa Gracias, Board Representative
    Denis Ryan, Board Representative
    Rick Nogal, Ex Officio Member
    Dr. Jim Gay, Superintendent, Ex Officio Member
    Dr. Kim Dryier, Assistant Superintendent for Instruction
    Dr. Stacey Gonzales, Director of Curriculum
    Deborah Baker, Principal Sandburg
    Eric Olsen, Principal Stagg
    Robert Nolting, Principal Andrew
    Michelle Etchason, Teachers' Association Representative
    Sheli Thoss, Teachers' Association Representative
    TBA, ESP Association Representative
    Kathleen Zwartz, VJA Community Representative
    Susan Haynie, VJA Community Representative
    Roseanne Ballard, VJA Community Representative
    Kimberly Floss, CS Community Representative
    Dr. M Elnatour, CS Community Representative
    Janet Donne, CS Community Representative
    Zoe Kopanis, AAS Community Representative
    Georgia Ailkakos, AAS Community Representative
    Audrey Rieland, AAS Community Representative