Competitive Clubs

  • Competitive Clubs compete against outside teams, other high schools, in a variety of tournaments, matches, and competitions as part of a structured regional or national league.  These clubs have coaches/sponsors and attend regularly scheduled practices.


  • ACES
    ACES is an academic composition offering students opportunities to challenge their math and science skills and problem-solving abilities in a variety of areas. Students compete at various levels.
    Sponsors: Jen Pierce & Christina Soldan
    Emails: jpierce@d230.org & csoldan@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in S-151 on Tuesdays between 3-5PM
     
     
    BASS FISHING
    The bass fishing club provides an opportunity for anglers, regardless of experience, to learn all aspects of fishing. Experienced anglers participate in tournament fishing with the possibility to win an IHSA state championship. 
    Sponsors: Jim Corcoran & Scott Plaisier
    Emails: jcorcoran@d230.org & splaisier@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in S-231 on Tuesdays between 3-5 PM
     
     
    CHESS TEAM
    Sandburg Chess team players learn to recognize the importance of their own strategies processes while sharing, developing and improving their chess skills. The team competes in several matches each year in the SWSC conference and membership is open.
    Sponsor: Patrick Latortue
    Email: platortue@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in S-150 Tuesday-Thursday between 3:30-5:30 PM
    Follow Sandburg Chess on Twitter
      
     
    DEBATE
    The Debate Team's goal is to enhance research, speaking, writing, and critical thinking skills. Students compete in various tournaments, debating a variety of real-world topics. 
    Sponsor: Elaine McGraw
    Email:  emcgraw@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in S-213 on Monday & Thursday between 3-6PM
    Follow Sandburg Debate on Twitter
     
     
    GAMING CLUB
    Interested in eSports, online gaming, or video games? Join Sandburg Gaming club and start competing today!
    Sponsor: Abdullah Faraj & Joe Tuttle
    Email: afaraj@d230.org & jtuttle@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in S-144 on Thursdays from 3-4:15 PM
    Follow Sandburg eSports on Twitter
     
     
    MATHLETES
    Math Team creates a competitive place for students who enjoy mathematics to learn problem-solving techniques used in competition. Membership is open.
    Sponsor: Dan Olsen
    Email: dolsen@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in C-212 & E-217 on Tuesdays and Thursdays (Calc. only on Fridays) between 3-5PM
    Follow Sandburg Mathletes on Twitter
  •  
    ROBOTICS CLUB
    The purpose of the Robotics Team is to inspire young people to be science and technology leaders.  Students will design, build, and program a fully functioning robot for competition.
    Sponsors: David Brewczynski & Rebecca Roti
    Emails: dbrewczynski@d230.org & rroti@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in S-225 Monday-Thursday (Oct.-April) and Saturday/Sundays (Jan-April) between 3-6PM
    Follow Sandburg's Robotics on Twitter
     
     
    SCHOLASTIC BOWL
    Scholastic Bowl is a competitive academic “quiz bowl” similar to “Jeopardy.” The team participates in SWSC tournaments. Membership is open.
    Sponsors: Mike Wooley & Jeff Brigham
    Emails: mwooley@d230.org & jbrigham@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in N-113 on Tuesdays and Wednesdays between 3-5PM
    Follow Sandburg's Scholastic Bowl on Twitter
     
     
    SKILLS USA-APPL. TECH.
    Preparing for leadership in the world of work. Students apply skills learned in applied technology courses and compete at various levels. Membership limited to qualified students in an Applied Tech or FACS course. 
    Sponsor: Chris Komer
    Email: ckomer@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in S-140 on Wednesdays between 3-4PM
    Follow Sandburg's Skills USA on Twitter
     
     
    SPECIAL OLYMPICS
    Special Olympics is a global organization that unleashes the human spirit through the trans-formative power and joy of sports and social opportunities. All are welcome to participate or lend a hand as a mentor/volunteer within our club. Go Eagles!
    Sponsors: Peggy Bryce & Ramis Habboub
    Emails: pbryce@d230.org & rhabboub@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in S-155/S-156 on Mondays between 3-4:30 PM
    Follow Sandburg's Special Olympics Team on Twitter
     
     
    SPEECH TEAM
    The Speech Team provides an opportunity for students to develop speaking, interpretation and acting skills in a nurturing, friendly environment. Discover how much fun public speaking can be! 
    Sponsor: Nora Nerius
    Email: nnerius@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets Monday-Friday in October-March between 3-6PM
    Follow Sandburg's Speech on Twitter