Social Justice Clubs

  • Social Justice Clubs provide opportunities for self-transformation, leadership, and community building to students in order to affect meaningful change in their classrooms, at Carl Sandburg High School, and in their communities.

  • FEMPOWER
    Fempower is Carl Sandburg’s feminist club. The club works to promote gender equality and help women in the community and globally. Open to all interested students! 
    Sponsors: Kristin Mattera & Traci Mitchell
    Emails: kmattera@d230.org & tmitchell@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in S-208/248 on Tuesdays between 3-4 PM
    Follow Sandburg's FEMpower Club on Twitter
     
     
    FRIENDSHIP CONNECTION
    The Friendship Connection Club is for both regular and special needs students. The main purpose of the club is to enhance the lives of students with special needs by providing opportunities for one-one friendships and increased participation in extracurricular school / community activities. 
    Sponsors: Jen Mulheran, Stacey Ardizzone, & Becky Malecki
    Emails: jmulheran@d230.org, sardizzone@d230.org, & bmalecki@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in S-105 on Wednesdays between 3-4PM
    Follow Sandburg's Friendship Connection Club on Sandburg  
     
     
    SAGA (GSA)
    The gay straight alliance is a group that meets twice a month to provide a safe space for all members of the straight, LGBTQ and non-binary communities within the Sandburg family.
    Sponsor: Chrissi Petropulos
    Email: cpetropulos@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets between 3-4PM 
    Follow Sandburg's SAGA Club on Twitter
  • SADD
    Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD) is a group of students helping other students make positive decisions about the challenges in their everyday lives. Membership is open.
    Sponsor: TBD
    Email: TBD
    Meeting Information: TBD
    Follow Sandburg's SADD Club on Twitter  
     
     
    SNOWBALL
    Operation Snowball is a district-wide program that gives all students the opportunity to participate in various community building activities throughout the school year and to attend a leadership retreat in early February. This retreat is a three-day program that focuses on leadership skills, healthy choices, strong friendships, and self-realization. 
    Sponsor: Jessica Kaffel & Harmoni Vasich
    Email: jkaffel@d230.org & hvasich@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Retreat weekend is November 15-17th
    Follow Sandburg's Snowball Club on Twitter