Social Justice Clubs

  • Social Justice Clubs provide opportunities for self-transformation, leadership, and community building to students in order to affect meaningful change in their classrooms, at Carl Sandburg High School, and in their communities.

  • Fempower logo

  • Friendship Connection logo



  • SAGA logo





  • Snowball logo

  • FEMPOWER
    Fempower is Carl Sandburg’s feminist club. The club works to promote gender equality and help women in the community and globally. Open to all interested students! 
    Sponsors: Kristin Mattera & Traci Mitchell
    Emails: kmattera@d230.org & tmitchell@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Alternating Tuesdays and Thursday from 3-4 PM Google Meet
    Follow Sandburg's FEMpower Club on Twitter
  • FRIENDSHIP CONNECTION
    The Friendship Connection Club is for both regular and special needs students. The main purpose of the club is to enhance the lives of students with special needs by providing opportunities for one-one friendships and increased participation in extracurricular school / community activities. 
    Sponsors: Jen Mulheran, Ellie Brtis & Becky Malecki
    Emails: jmulheran@d230.org, ebrtis@d230.org & rmalecki@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Wednesdays between 3-4 PM Google Meet
    Follow Sandburg's Friendship Connection Club on Sandburg  
  • SAGA (GSA)
    SAGA the “Sexuality and Gender Alliance” club wants every student in our school to be valued and treated with respect, regardless of their sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression. Our purpose is to unite LGBTQ+ and allied students to build community and organize around issues impacting them in their school. Our club is a safe place for students that are a part of the LGBTQ+ community (including allies) to have fun and be themselves! Activities include support, building a community, and discussing current news in the LGBTQ+ community. 
    Sponsor: E. Chrissi Petropulos
    Email: epetropulos@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Bi-weekly Thursdays from 3-4 PM
    Follow Sandburg's SAGA Club on Twitter
  • SNOWBALL
    Operation Snowball is a district-wide program that gives all students the opportunity to participate in various community building activities throughout the school year and to attend a leadership retreat in early February. This retreat is a three-day program that focuses on leadership skills, healthy choices, strong friendships, and self-realization. 
    Sponsor: Stacy Verble & Harmoni Vasich
    Email: sverble@d230.org & hvasich@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Retreat weekend is TBD
    Follow Sandburg's Snowball Club on Twitter