Competitive Clubs

  • Competitive Clubs compete against outside teams, other high schools, in a variety of tournaments, matches, and competitions as part of a structured regional or national league.  These clubs have coaches/sponsors and attend regularly scheduled practices.

    Special Olympics BBall


  • ACES
    This club is designed to enrich the STEM curriculum. Preparing for a series of regional, sectional, and state competitions, students will study for assessments in two of the following areas: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering Graphics, English, Math, and Physics.
    Sponsors: Julie Johnson  Eric Johnson
    Emails: jjohnson@d230.org   ejohnson@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Will begin in Late September/early October, Google Classroom code: ckrjauu  Google Meet Link
    Social Media: Twitter- @VJA_ACES
    Video: Link
     
    BASS FISHING
    If you enjoy meeting new people and being outdoors, the fishing club is for you. No experience or equipment needed to join. Boys and girls are welcome! Open our attached pamphlet below to learn about our many activities! Our open door policy allows you to join other activities and sports as well.
     
    Sponsors: John Bartgen & Dave Arndt
    Emails: jbartgen@d230.org  darndt@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Google Meet Link and  Class Code: j6wp3g
    YouTube Video: Link
     
     
    CHESS TEAM
    The VJAChess Club/Team provides our students with many competitive and informal opportunities to learn and play chess. Our varsity team competes within the SWSC, Saturday scholastic tournaments and the IHSA state competition series.
    Sponsor: Shaun Nussbaum & Julie Johnson
    Email snussbaum@d230.org  jjohnson@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Mon, Tues, Thurs 3-430pm in The Center, while remote Tues/Thurs 3:15-4:30
    Social Media Accounts:  Twitter: @VJAChess
    YouTube Video: Link
     
     
    DEBATE
    If  you enjoy discussing current events and issues and you also enjoy a good debate on the issues and events of our day, then join the VJA  Debate Team!  Joining the Debate Team will give you the opportunity to meet students who share your interest in current events.  We attend tournaments that host as many as twenty or more high schools and as many as 500 hundred students.  This is a great opportunity to develop long lasting academic skills and meet many other students--from Andrew as well as from many other high schools. 
    Sponsor: Jim Wool 
    Email:  jwool@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Twice a week Google Classroom Code: 2p6ezns
    Video: Link
     
     
      
    GROUP INTERPRETATION
    Group Interpretation is a Spring  SWSC/IHSA competitive speech/theater event in which student performers and musicians perform a story within 30 minutes, without set, props, or costuming. Ensemble piece that fosters teamwork and creativity!
    Sponsors: Kristen Cochran & Lauren Robinson
    Emails:  kcochran@d230.org  Lrobinson@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Tentative Auditions - December Tentative Rehearsal Schedule: Jan - Mar Mon-Thurs More Details to Follow  Google Meet
    Drama club video: Link
     
    MATHLETES
    Students interested in mathematics participate in competition against other suburban schools and in the SWSC Conference.  Written and oral competitions are held once a month on Wednesday evenings between September – February. Strong enrichment to honors level mathematics curriculum.
    Sponsor: Eric Johnson & Shawn Nussbaum
    Email: ejohnson@d230.org   snussbaum@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meetings on Wednesdays from 3:05pm-3:45pm Google Classroom code: snspgmq Google Meet Link
    Social Media Accounts:  Twitter: VJAMathletes
     
  • ROBOTICS CLUB
    The VJA Robotics and Engineering Team is a cornerstone for ingenuity and teamwork! Students work together to assemble and program custom robots to accomplish specific tasks for our Southworks Robotics Competition. All experience levels are welcome!
    Sponsors: Gina Johnson & Kristy Holben
    Emails: gjohnson2d230.org   kholben@d230.org
    Meeting Information: First semester =  every other Thursday from  3:30 - 4:00 PM     Second semester =  Thursdays from  3:15 - 4:00 PM Meet Link https://meet.google.com/lookup/a2peiof2yg Google Classroom Join Code:  w5xyzlw
     
     
    SCHOLASTIC BOWL
    Students interested in trivia, especially academic related trivia (history, science, and literature) compete against teams from other schools. Competitions run December through March. Membership is open to any interested student.
    Sponsors: Heather Boston & Chris Budnick
    Emails: hboston@d230.org   cbudnick@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in room 346 Mondays from 3-4pm
    Social Media: Twitter-@VJAScholBowl
     
     
    SKILLS USA-APPL. TECH.
    Preparing for leadership in the world of work. Students apply skills learned in applied technology courses and compete at various levels. Membership limited to qualified students in an Applied Tech or FACS course. 
    Sponsors: Mark Lobes, Abe Othman, Jen Knezz, & Sarah Szablewski
    Email: mlobes@d230.org  ABOthman@d230.org   jknezz@d230.org   Sszablewski@d230.org
    Meeting Information: See Sponsors
    Video: Link
     
     
    SPECIAL OLYMPICS
    Special Olympics is a global organization that unleashes the human spirit through the trans-formative power and joy of sports and social opportunities. All are welcome to participate or lend a hand as a mentor/volunteer within our club. Our VJA Special Olympics Teams are multiple time STATE CHAMPS!
    Sponsors: Phil Dryer, Jeanann Paczeszny, & Mike Pila
    Emails: pdryer@d230.org   jpaczeszny@d230.org   mpila@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets in S-155/S-156 on Mondays between 3-4:30 PM Google Meet: Link
    Social Media: Twitter- @VJA_SO
     
    SPEECH TEAM
    Students deliver prepared and on-the-spot speeches in a competitive environment. Speech is an IHSA activity.
    Sponsor: August Deuser
    Email: adeuser@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Meets Tuesdays from 3-6pm in room 248
    Social Media: Twitter- @VJASpeechTeam
    Video: Link
     
    VIDEO GAMING CLUB
    We mostly play Smash Ultimate but also play many other video games. We play casual and run tournaments once a month for all play styles. This year we’ll be playing remotely so you can play any game from home and chat with other gamers on Discord.
    Sponsor: Adam Weis
    Email: aweis@d230.org
    Meeting Information: Wednesday 3-5pm in room 158
    Social Media Accounts:  Twitter: @vjasmash
    Video: Link