Return to Headlines

D230 National Merit Semifinalists & Commended Students

Twenty-three Consolidated High School District 230 students just made a pretty selective list. They were named 2023 National Merit Semifinalists and Commended students.About 16,000 semifinalists and 34,000 commended students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise, according to information provided by NMSP. 

Semifinalists represent less than 1% of US high school seniors. They will continue in the 2023 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards and will compete nationally for nearly $28 million in scholarships that will be awarded next spring. 

While Commended Students do not continue in the competition, they placed among the top five percent of 1.5 million students who entered the 2023 Merit Program by taking the 2021 PSAT/National Merit Scholarship qualifying test.

Congratulations to the following District 230 students:

Stagg Commended Students
Kylie M. Autullo
Isabelle Lepkowski
Konrad J. Poradowski
Adrian J. Sojka

Andrew Commended Student
Dylan Young

Sandburg National Merit Semifinalist
Nikolas Delis
Ethan Marshall

Sandburg Commended Students
Dean Bruton
Thomas Durkin
Maya Elifson
Anthony Galan
Jurgen Gonzalez
Rosella Irfan
Alaina Kovacevic
Areen Krikorian
Connor O’Sullivan
Megan O’Sullivan
Madeline Peterson
Kethan Polavarapu
Sameer Pradhan
George Pytel
Yashvardhan Rao
Sameena Vasi