Return to Headlines

District 230 announces College Board academic honorees

Consolidated High School District 230 students at Carl Sandburg, Amos Alonzo Stagg and Victor J. Andrew high schools recently earned academic honors from the College Board National Recognition Programs. These programs celebrate students' hard work in high school and showcase their strong academic performance. The program celebrates underrepresented students who excel on College Board assessments, including PSAT/NMSQT®, PSAT™ 10, and AP® exams. 

The National Recognition academic honors for Black, Indigenous, and/or Latino students are an opportunity for students to share their strong academic achievements with colleges and scholarship programs that are seeking to recruit diverse talent. 

“We are proud to celebrate our students and recognize them for the great work they’ve been doing. Their strong academic performance in the classroom and on College Board assessments is a testament to their hard work and the dedication of our staff,” said Superintendent Dr. Robert Nolting. “There’s so much that makes our students unique, and receiving this honor reinforces this as an asset for their future.”

The criteria for eligible students include:

  • GPA of 3.5 or higher.

  • PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10 assessment scores that are within the top 10% of assessment takers in each state for each award program or earned a score of 3 or higher on 2 or more AP Exams in 9th and 10th grade.

  • Identify as African American/Black, Hispanic American/Latino, or Indigenous/Native.

Eligible students are invited to apply during their sophomore or junior year and are awarded at the start of the next school year in time to share their achievements in high school as they plan for the future. At the same time, colleges and organizations using College Board’s Student Search Service™ can connect directly with awardees during the recruitment process.

Please help congratulate the following District 230 students:

National African American Recognition Award

Mea Adolph - Sandburg
Yohali Bopeya - Stagg
Neela Browne - Sandburg
Saleemah Mahmoud - Stagg
Jazmyn Nelson - Andrew
Igbota Nkumeh - Sandburg
Samantha Plaia Stagg
Justin Woods - Sandburg

National Hispanic Recognition Award
Julia Berner - Stagg
Alec Cabrera - Stagg
Aliya Lika - Stagg