Return to Headlines

Sandburg Model UN wins first-ever Outstanding Large Delegation at NU

For the first time in the history of Carl Sandburg’s Model UN competition, the Eagles brought home the Outstanding Large Delegation award from Northwestern University’s prestigious Model UN Conference. Northwestern University recently hosted its 20th annual Model United Nations conference, hosting more than 800 delegates from schools across the country. Carl Sandburg’s Model UN team took part in the conference, and CSMUN delegates worked diligently for four days with 18 hours of committee to debate, collaborate, and resolve a multitude of topics. 


Delegates attended committees on topics ranging from: Artificial Intelligence in developing countries in UNESCO, migrant workers in the middle east in ILO, Roman Senate in crisis committee Caesar Crosses the Rubicon, athlete’s mental health and gender equality in the 2024 Paris Olympics, and many more. 


CSMUN delegates brought back an Outstanding Large Delegation award, which marked the first time in history CSMUN had won a delegation award at a NUMUN conference. 


The following 16 Eagle delegates were recognized: 

Best Delegates: Danny Norbut-sophomore (Disney Board of Directors), Jack Maloney-junior (Press Corps), Dean Bruton-senior, and Basil George-junior (UNESCO)


Honorable Delegates: Samantha Rose-sophomore and Jozef Laran-sophomore (UNHRC), Naveen Koshy-junior (Leaving Jakarta), and Andy Acosta-junior (ILO)


Diplomacy Awards: Neel Patel-freshman (C40), Carson Banker-junior (Paris 2024), and Aubrey Thornton-sophomore (Guinea’s First Parliament)


Position Paper Awards: Layan Rahman-senior (Arctic Council), Myles Jacquez-freshman and Sangyung Lee-freshman (UNESCO), Melissa Alilia-sophomore (ILO), and Monajah Ewuosho-sophomore (Kenya’s Green Belt Movement)