‚ÄčA message from District 230 Superintendent Dr. James M. Gay about happenings at Sandburg, Stagg and Andrew High Schools

Recognizing students, saying farewell, seating new School Board & electing officers
Last night's School Board meeting was jam-packed as they honored some outstanding students, said farewell to Board President Rick Nogal as he retires from the Board, seated new Board members following the election and elected new officers. Spring is always full of celebrations and last night was no exception!
Student representatives
The Student Council Presidents from each school have reported monthly to the School Board on the happenings at their schools. Last night they provided their final reports and we bid them them well as they head off to college next year. Thank you to Stagg's Ruaa Elkeim, Sandburg's Aristotle Vainikos, and Andrew's Gina Canavan and Amy Kowal.
Superintendent's Advisory Seniors
Each month I meet with student representatives from each of our schools as they share their thoughts on decisions the administration and School Board are considering, as well as bringing forward ideas on how they believe their schools could be even better. Last night we honored the senior members of my Student Advisory and thanked them for sharing their candid views!
Sandburg: Marcelo Clauze, Mac Harlin, Camile Jones, Ashley Malone, Cloda McCormack, Chibueze Nwangwas Obia and Tom Windt. Stagg: Andrew Demma, Claire Conroy, Michael Kazanecki, Sarah Ali, Guadalupe Araiza, Ruaa Elkarim, Monica Para, Toni Smertene,  Sylvia Syp and Liliana Ruiz. Andrew: Lena Alowisi, Ahmad Elsholi, Lauren Green, Anna Gregg, Zacharcy Mattix, Gabriela Sportiello and Chad Yanik.
Top 1% of Seniors
We also saluted the Top 1% of Seniors from each of our schools. These students have proven themselves not only as incredibly intelligent and dedicated scholars, but also as contributing members of our school communities. The future is certainly bright!

Sandburg: Farah Doughan, Carson Krol, Madena Mustafa, Riya Patel, Aristotle Vainikos, Kaitlin Walsh and Nicole Nelligan. Stagg: Alexa Barstatis, Claire Conroy, Andrew Demma, Catherine Droesch, Normante Grabauskaite and Aarthi Kottapalli. Andrew: Lana Abuawad, Elizabeth Baier, Gina Canavan, Zachary Mattix, Danae Meyers and Payal Patel.
National Merit Finalists
Five District 230 students earned the distinction of being named National Merit Finalists. These students are among the top 1% of students across the nation and are now eligible for scholarships through the National Merit program.

Stagg: Aarthi Kottapalli. Sandburg: Kayleigh Risser, Ameena Mozaffar, Nicole Nelligan and Aristotle Vainikos.
Saying Farewell to Board President Nogal
Last night marked School Board President Rick Nogal's final meeting after serving as a Board member in District 230 for eight years. I along with his fellow Board members, the Teachers Association and the Educational Support Professionals Association took a moment to reflect on the impact he's made and to thank him for his service.

A true indication of his dedication and commitment to the district, earlier this school year Rick was honored with the 2018 Thomas Lay Burroughs Award for the State's Outstanding School Board President by the Illinois State Board of Education. He also will receive a Distinguished Service Award from the Illinois Chapter of the National School Public Relations Association next week.

Rick has a long history of serving the local community in a collaborative manner that is focused first on ensuring the vision and goals of the organization are met. Rick has served on the District 230 School Board since 2011, six of those years as its President. His commitment to the students of District 230 began even earlier as he was a community volunteer on the Student Services Committee for four years prior to being elected to the School Board. In addition, he also served on the partner district Palos Community Consolidated District 118 Board of Education from 2003 until 2011, including two years as its President. 

Rick has led District 230 with great integrity and passion for assuring all students have equal opportunity to achieve educational excellence. This is evidenced by the collaborative goal-setting process he established that includes idea sharing from board members, administration, teachers and staff which has led to major district initiatives. 

We wish him all the best!
Seating new School Board & electing officers

The School Board welcomed new members Mike Hardek and Dave O'Connor and swore them in alongside re-elected Patrick O'Sullivan following the election earlier this month. The Board also elected its leadership including President Tony Serratore, Vice President Melissa Gracias and Secretary Susan Dalton.

I hope you will join me in welcoming our newest Board members and in congratulating our new Board leadership. I look forward to working closely with them to continue the long-standing tradition of excellence at Sandburg, Stagg and Andrew High Schools.